COLIN Upfold was the big winner after picking up the coveted Portland Town club player of the season award at the islanders’ end-of-season trophy night.

The event was supported by more than 40 players and their partners.

Town chairman Andy Barber handed out an array of trophies beginning with the club’s A team.

Sam Course picked up no fewer then four trophies including club top goal scorer and most appearances.

Rich Limm, of the club’s reserve side, was another player who received three trophies including most consistent and manager’s player.

Kevin Paice, who took over as manager of the first team after Kieron Howes quit also fared well with two awards including players’ player.

Barber then presented the club awards with George Higgins collecting the penultimate trophy of the night, the club young player of the season accolade.

But Upfold was overall winning champion with the club’s highest honour of club player of the season.

Upfold’s been at the club for eight seasons and went close on several occasions but this season he achieved the ultimate prize after an incredible season with the first team. He also was the top goal scorer for the side.

Barber said after the event: “I’m so proud of all the guys.

“And I know some will be disappointed they didn’t win.

“But we can’t praise all the players enough for their efforts.

“Pre-season starts again this week and any new players who want to be part of PTFC next year are welcome to come along.”

If they need any more info they can email the club on Portland



Goal of the season: Danny James

Top scorer: Sam Jay Course

Captain’s player: Ian Barnes

Players’ player: Richard Johnson

Manager’s Player: Joe Ryder


Goal of the season: Danny James

Top goal scorer: Liam Puckett

Captain’s player: Ryan Langdon

Players’ player: Richey Limm

Manager’s player: Rich Limm


Goal of the season: Sam Course

Captain’s player: Danny Clifford

Top goalscorer: Colin Upfold

Young player: Danny Clifford

Players’ player: Kevin Paice

Manager’s player: Kevin Paice


Treasurers award: Shane Maguire

Most appreciated: Mitch Perrett

Most appearances: Sam Course

Most consistent: Rich Limm

Best newcomer: Nick Paul

Top goal scorer: Sam Course

Chairman’s player: Craig Mitchell

Young player of the season: George Higgins

Player of the season: Colin Upfold